Changes at the Statehouse

At the top of the list is a new governor for the Buckeye State. Gov. Mike DeWine was elected to a four-year term, along with Lt. Gov. Jon Husted. All of Ohio’s statewide elected officials, including the governor and lieutenant governor, are Republican. Here’s a rundown of the other office holders who now represent Ohio:


Secretary of State: Frank LaRose


Attorney General: Dave Yost


Auditor of State: Keith Faber


Treasurer of State: Robert Sprague

In Ohio’s House of Representatives, Republicans hold a 61–38 majority. The new House speaker is Rep. Larry Householder from Glenford. The new Minority Leader is Emilia Sykes from Akron. You may find it interesting that Speaker Householder and Leader Sykes brokered a historic deal where half of the Democratic Caucus voted for Speaker Householder in the Speaker’s race in return for bipartisanship.

This is the first time in Ohio history that this happened. Typically, the majority party sets the rules and agenda for the General Assembly while the minority party works to get back into the majority. The deal brokered between Householder and Sykes provided for a bipartisan committee to set the rules for the General Assembly, assuring input from both sides.

Finally, in the Ohio Senate, there were no major changes. Republicans have a 24–9 Supermajority in that chamber.

You can share the information with your friends and family, using the social media buttons below:

Newer Post

Hackathon participants at University of Toledo tackled big challenges

Older post

#TechCorpsHack: High school students inspired, thanks to AT&T Aspire

©  2021 AT&T Intellectual Property. All rights reserved.